Australian Open Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a look at the Australian Open, one of four competitions that make up the “Grand Slam” in professional tennis. The other three are Wimbledon, the French Open, and the US Open.

January 16-29, 2023 – The 111th Australian Open is scheduled to take place.

January 17-30, 2022 – The 110th Australian Open is being held.

The tournament takes place at Melbourne Park, in Melbourne, Australia.

The Australian Open is played on hard courts with a blue surface.

Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev in the men’s final, breaking a record 21st Grand Slam title.

Ash Barty became the first Australian Open champion since 1978 after defeating Danielle Collins in the women’s final.

Total prize money for 2022 It was 75 million Australian dollars. 2023 award information has not yet been released.

youngest winners – Men’s Singles – Ken Rosewall (18); Women’s Singles – Martina Hingis (16)

Oldest winners – Men’s Singles – Rosewall (37); Women’s Singles – Thelma Long (35)

Most consecutive singles wins – Men – Roy Emerson (five) 1963-1967; Women’s – Margaret Court (Seven) 1960-1966

Most singles titles overall – Men’s – Djokovic (nine); Women – Margaret Court (11)

1905 – The Australian Championships are held in Melbourne.

1927 – The name was changed to the Australian Championships.

1954 – Thelma Long won the women’s singles championship at the age of 35, becoming the oldest woman to do so.

1969 – The name was changed to the Australian Open.

1972 – Ken Rosewall won the men’s singles championship at the age of 37, becoming the oldest male player to win the Australian Open. Rosewall also holds the record for the youngest champion, winning at the age of 18 in 1953.

2001 – It begins paying equal prize money to men and women.

January 15-16, 2022 – World number one and 2021 men’s singles champion Novak Djokovic has been detained and deported from Australia over a visa and vaccination dispute, and missed the tournament.

November 15, 2022 – Australia’s Department of Immigration has announced that Djokovic’s three-year ban from entering the country has been lifted, paving the way for the nine-time singles champion to enter the 2023 Australian Open.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *