Bad News for Freelance Netflix Uploaders: Password Sharing Will ‘Ban’ By Late March

Bad news for standalone Netflix users: Password sharing will be banned by late March — and at least 100 million viewers will be affected

The time that Netflix ‘hackers’ have long feared – password sharing will be banned by the end of March.

The company shared the news in a letter to shareholders, noting that the account’s “widespread sharing” had more than 100 million viewers.

However, these individuals will be able to transfer their profiles to a new paid account, allowing them to transfer their preferences.

Netflix said 2022 was a “tough year” because of its first subscriber losses in over a decade — its customer base dropped by 200,000 subscribers in the first quarter.

Netflix told shareholders it will block users from sharing accounts in late March. The move comes as more than 100 million people are watching the platform for free

“Today’s widespread account sharing undermines our long-term ability to invest in and improve Netflix, as well as build our business.” the company said in its letter.

“While our Terms of Use limit Netflix use to family use, we recognize this is a change for members who share their accounts more broadly.”

However, Netflix understands that some users will cancel their accounts, but those who participate can transfer profiles if they choose to open their own accounts.

“We believe the pattern will be similar to what we’ve seen in Latin America, with participation increasing over time as we continue to offer a large slate of programming and borrowers subscribe to their own accounts,” the company told shareholders.

Netflix is ​​making more revenue, all while catering to consumers’ needs.

In November 2022, the company launched the “Basic with Ads” option for $6.99 per month, compared to the ad-free version for $9.99 per month.

The ads, which are 15 or 30 seconds long, are played before and during shows and movies.

And during the recent ban on sharing passwords, Netflix revealed plans for a paid sharing option.

This will be multiple users on the same account.

Under the new rules, people who watch Netflix using someone else’s account will have to create their own login information and pay for their own access.

The new feature is already being tested, and a platform-wide implementation is expected by the end of March.

To enable people to share an account, “paid sharing” will be added, allowing multiple users but at a lower cost than a full subscription.

The accounts actually come with five “profiles,” but they’re intended for use by members of the same household.

“Each account comes with five profiles that any family member can use,” said a Netflix spokesperson.

The new option comes in if people want to share their Netflix account with friends and family who live elsewhere.

ads

Related Posts