Explosion in Poland: Biden says the missile that killed two people may not have come from Russia

European leaders express their solidarity with Poland

There was unanimous condemnation from Western leaders, not least in Europe, after a missile, most likely Russian-made according to Warsaw, hit Polish soil and killed two people.

“Poland can count on the support of France and our willingness to assist in the ongoing investigations,” said President Macron. Francechirp After his meeting with Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki on Tuesday evening.

Germany It said it stands “by” its Polish partner in NATO.

Finland – on the front line as Russia’s neighbor and non-NATO member – he said immediately after the bombings that he was “in contact with the Finnish Embassy in Warsaw and other foreign ministers. We are waiting for more detailed information from Poland and from our partners.”

In Eastern Europe, reactions, some of them more fierce, came in the wake of the explosions, before it was ascertained where the missile had come from, or where it was made.

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda called the news from Poland “alarming”. “Every inch of NATO’s territory must be defended.” he tweeted.

slovak Prime Minister Eduard Hager also expressed his support. followed Latvia And the Estoniaand both said they stood by Poland.

in HungaryA spokesman for Prime Minister Viktor Orban said the defense council convened in the evening. Defense Minister Christophe Szalay Boprovnytsky said afterwards that the situation was “unconfirmed” and “we don’t know exactly what happened”.

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky said he spoke with Polish President Andrzej Duda. “He expressed his condolences for the death of Polish citizens as a result of Russian missile terrorism,” he wrote on Twitter. “We have exchanged available information and clarified all the facts. Ukraine, Poland, all of Europe and the world must be protected from terrorist Russia,” he added.

An emergency NATO meeting was scheduled for Wednesday. Another meeting was held Wednesday morning in Bali between the leaders of the Group of Seven (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States), the White House announced.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *