The House Oversight Committee was appointed to a controversial two-year term with the additions of controversial Republican members


Some of the most extreme voices in the Republican Party will play a central role in congressional efforts to investigate President Joe Biden, his family, and his administration in the coming months.

On Wednesday, Republicans revealed the full list of members who will serve on the House Oversight Committee, including several — such as Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene, Scott Perry, Andy Biggs, Jim Jordan and Paul Gosar — ​​who have denied the results of the 2020 presidential election and publicly floated conspiracy theories.

The presence of such members leads to inevitable high-profile clashes in the coming months as Republicans move forward in their promised investigations. The Oversight Committee often served as a venue for controversial members of Congress to engage in back-to-back events to draw attention to themselves and controversial topics.

Jordan, Biggs, and Gosar, for example, served on the committee in the previous Congress, while Rep. Alexandria Ocasia-Cortez, one of the most prominent House progressive Democrats, has served on the committee since joining Congress in 2019. They have yet to choose a slate of lawmakers to serve on this congressional committee. ).

The White House on Wednesday criticized the appointments.

Ian Sams, a spokesman for the White House Counsel’s Office, accused Republicans of “handing the keys to censorship to the more extreme MAGA members of the Republican caucus who promote violent rhetoric and dangerous conspiracy theories.”

As we have said before, the Biden administration is prepared to act in good faith to meet the legitimate oversight needs of Congress. However, with these members on the oversight committee, it appears that House Republicans may be paving the way for political stunts divorced from reality, rather than engaging in A bipartisan act on behalf of the American people,” Sams said in a statement provided to CNN.

The Anti-Defamation League also condemned the decision to reinstate Green and Gosar to commissions after they were stripped of these responsibilities in the last Congress following inflammatory statements.

We are deeply troubled by the decision to appoint committees to RepMTG and RepGosar. chirp Tuesday. “Proponents of violent, anti-democratic conspiracy theories have no place in leadership – and especially not on committees with relevant jurisdictions.”

The House of Representatives voted in February 2021 to remove Greene from her commission duties after past inflammatory and violent statements including that she repeatedly indicated her support for the execution of prominent Democratic politicians prior to her election to Congress.

In November 2021, the House of Representatives voted to censure Gosar and remove him from his committees after he posted a photoshopped anime video on social media showing him killing Ocasio-Cortez and attacking President Joe Biden.

Here is the full list of Republicans who will serve on the committee:

  • James Comer, President of Kentucky
  • Jim Jordan from Ohio
  • Mike Turner from Ohio
  • Paul Gosar from Arizona
  • Virginia Fox from North Carolina
  • Glenn Grotman from Wisconsin
  • Gary Palmer Alabama
  • Clay Higgins from Louisiana
  • Andy Biggs from Arizona
  • Nancy Mays from South Carolina
  • Jake LaTurner from Kansas
  • Pat Fallon from Texas
  • Byron Donalds from Florida
  • Pete Sessions from Texas
  • Kelly Armstrong from North Dakota
  • Scott Perry from Pennsylvania
  • William Timmons of South Carolina
  • Tim Burchett from Tennessee
  • Marjorie Taylor Green is from Georgia
  • Lisa McClain Michigan
  • Lauren Boebert from Colorado
  • Russell Fry from South Carolina
  • Anna Paulina Luna from Florida
  • Chuck Edwards from North Carolina
  • Nick Langworthy in New York
  • Eric Burleson Missouri

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *