Wimbledon Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a look at Wimbledon tennis.

27 Jun – 10 Jul 2022 – Wimbledon is held in London.

28 June – 11 July 2021 – Wimbledon is held.

Novak Djokovic defeated Nick Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-6 (7-3) in the men’s final, to win his fourth consecutive Wimbledon title and his 21st Grand Slam title overall.

Elena Rybakina defeated Ons Jabeur 3-6 6-2 6-2 in the women’s final to win her first Wimbledon title.

Wimbledon is one of the four major tennis tournaments. The others are Australian Open, French Open, and US Open.

The Wimbledon Championships are held at the All England Lawn Tennis Club in London.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam event still played on grass.

Most singles wins (male) – Roger Federer with eight.

Most singles wins (female) – Martina Navratilova with nine.

Biggest winner (male) – Federer won the men’s singles title in 2017 at the age of 35 years, 342 days.

Oldest winner (female) – Navratilova won the mixed doubles match in 2003 at the age of 46 years, 261 days.

Youngest winner (male) – Boris Becker won the men’s singles title in 1985 at the age of 17 years and 228 days.

Youngest winner (female) – Martina Hingis won the women’s doubles championship in 1996 at the age of 15 years and 282 days.

Longest tennis match ever played (any tournament) – In the 2010 tournament, John Isner defeated Nicolas Mahut in a match that lasted 11 hours and five minutes over three days. The final set lasted 138 games (at that time there was no tiebreaker in fifth sets at Wimbledon and the player had to win two matches). The final score: 6-4, 3-6, 6-7 (7), 7-6 (3), 70-68.

1868 – The All England Croquet Club was founded. The grounds are located off Worple Road in the London suburb of Wimbledon.

1877 – The name is changed to the All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club and the first Lawn Tennis Championships are held.

1882 – “Croquet” has been dropped from the club’s nickname, as the sport is declining in popularity. It was reinstated in 1899.

1915-1918 – Wimbledon was suspended during World War I.

1922 – The Championships move to Church Road, the current site of Wimbledon.

1940-1945 – Wimbledon was suspended during World War II.

October 1940 – During World War II, a bomb hit Center Court, resulting in the loss of 1,200 stadium seats.

2007 – The winners will receive the same cash prizes as the winners for the first time.

May 17, 2009 – The retractable roof over Center Court was unveiled during an exhibition match.

October 2018 – The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC) introduces a final set tiebreak rule which begins when players are tied at 12-12 in the fifth set. [third set for women].

July 2019 The AELTC implements a new final set tie-break rule and is used for the first time during the men’s tournament final.

April 1, 2020 – It was announced that this year’s Wimbledon Championships has been canceled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

April 27, 2021 – The AELTC announced that the tournaments would become a 14-day tournament starting in 2022, with matches taking place on Middle Sunday. Middle Sunday is a traditional holiday at Wimbledon.

April 20, 2022 – Wimbledon organizers have announced that Russian and Belarusian players will not be allowed to compete in the four Grand Slams this year following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

November 17, 2022 – Wimbledon organizers announced that they would relax the all-white dress code, allowing female players to wear dark-colored underwear shorts if they chose.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *